My First Period Story

I got my first period when I was 13. It happened one Saturday morning in September 2014. School was about to resume after the long vacation, I was going to be in SS2. Few days to that morning, I had been experiencing cramps. I remember my mum even had to sleep in my room the night before because the pain was much and a bit unbearable. I didn’t even know what was causing the pain as I was not expecting my period. Fam, I was stressed.

I woke up that morning to use the restroom and lo and behold, the red witch was here. I didn’t shout or make a fuss, in fact, I almost didn’t inform my mum because I thought “Girl, you got this!”.

I eventually told her because I didn’t have a pad to use. I had totally forgotten about the promo pack Always gave to us when they came to my school that I had been keeping for years. My mum gave me one of hers and I used it. It felt uncomfortable.

The highlight of that morning had to be my younger sister running to the living room to tell my dad there was blood in my poo. Then my dad rushed in and asked my mum what happened. Then my mum said I got my menses. I was mortified.

My mum went ahead to give me “the talk”, how I have now become a woman and I should be careful around boys and the rest. It wasn’t as intense as I thought it would be. Later in the day, we went to the market to buy sanitary pads and also panties suitable for menstruation, my mum called them ‘garbage pants’.

School resumed and I was happy to finally be able to join in my friends’ conversations about periods and the likes. Most of them got their first periods way before I did and to be honest, I felt a little out of place to not be able to relate.

I did not really have any questions about periods because prior to that time, we had been taught in school about the whole menstruation brouhaha. Also Always had come to give us an orientation about it so I already had enough information about it. The only problem I had were the cramps.

So there you have it, my first period story. I hope you enjoyed reading thisπŸ’•. Leave a comment below if you did.

Love, Olufunmike ❀️.

Published by TheFunmyke

Believer. Medical Student. Baby Girl For Life.

19 thoughts on “My First Period Story

  1. Great piece.
    Thank you for sharing your story.

    I am so happy you were armed with many facts about menstruation rather than myth before hand. You were already ready even before the day. Lol.

    I’m sure you have found a solution to those cramps ☺

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Some of US can not relate πŸ™„ and can never, thank you for sharing, at least I’d know my daughter is not dieing in day the red witch shows up.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I didn’t know you write but this is really greatπŸ’› … I actually thought I just had to use sanitary pad for some few minutes and the bleeding would stop,my surprise when it did not πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started